Posted by

The Music Link List – 07/06/2011

Nola Darling

♥♥ It’s been way too long since we’ve heard something new from the female duo Nola Darling. Lucky for us, the wait is now over! “STFU (Start the Riot)” is Nola Darling’s collaboration with super producer Kwame and the first single off of their highly anticipated EP set to drop August 8th. Take a listen to a snippet of the track below. The full version drops on July 7th!

Mick Boogie & DJ Jazzy Jeff – Summertime 2 (Mixtape)

♥♥ Drums please!  Mick Boogie and DJ Jazzy Jeff have one again teamed up to release the second installment in their summer mixtape series.   Summertime 2 features 45 classic hip-hop and r&b tracks from artists such as De La Soul, Stevie Wonder, The Fresh Prince, Mos Def, Slum Village, The Pharcyde, Q-Tip, Slick Rick, The Isley Brothers, and many more.  Don’t miss out on what’s definitely the definitive summer soundtrack!

Kids These Days - Hard Times EP

♥♥ Eight-piece Chicago band Kids These Days made a splash at SXSW this year! In what is turning out to be a very successful year for the group, they recently released a 7 song EP entitled, Hard Times. With a strong influences in hip-hop and jazz, this group is definitely making the “under 21” crowd look very good. Take a listen to the track “Hard Times” below and be sure to purchase the EP on Itunes.

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Blah Blah Blah - Why Am I The Only One Laughing?

♥♥ For Blah Blah Blah’s new project, Thank You, Thank You, the band decided to ditch the ease of digital and embrace the techniques of yester-year by recording the entire EP in analog reel-to-reel on 2-inch tape. Check out their new single “Why Am I The Only One Laughing?” below!

Tokyo Dawn Records - The Heart Volume 2

♥♥ Tokyo Dawn Records – The Heart Volume 2 is the second installment of the series which pays musical homage to the iconic heart symbol which refers to the core of the human being, representing love and passion worldwide. The compilation features music from underground artists such as Reggie B, Hazel, Boom Clap Bachelors, Colonel Red, Performat and many, many more.

Jesse Boykins III - Way Of A Wayfarer

♥♥ Jesse Boykins III brings us his brand new EP, Way Of The Wayfarer. Below he gives us a proper introduction of the project. You can download the project for free courtesy of his website!

“After my last release “The Beauty Created” 3years ago, I took some time to truly discover my art, my spirit, my voice, my style, my love for life and its mysteries. That journey has taken me around the world, exposed me to various cultures and people, and enlightened and influenced me along the way. “Way Of A Wayfarer” is me sharing with you those moments and those lessons, in hopes that I can inspire you to share your moments and lessons with the rest of the World. That is the only way, the universal way. Much love & many thanks to SoulCulture, Street Etiquette & #PassportLife for taking this journey with me. Schwaza.

The visions of a lover thru his travels, in search of his present
self.” – Jesse Boykins III

Similar Posts:

2 Responses to “The Music Link List – 07/06/2011”

  1. Mayette May says:

    Dope selection! Love the Summertime 2 mixtape!

  2. Valerie Valerie says:

    I didn’t think it could get any better than last year’s mixtape, but I was proven wrong! I love the mixtape too May!


Facebook Twitter Flickr Flickr